Municipalities of Abra M – V

Malibcong, Manabo, Penarrubia, Pidigan, Pilar, Sallapadan, San Isidro, San Juan, San Quintin, Tayum, Tineg, Tubo, Villaviciosa


Manabo has earned the designation of “rice granary of Abra” after the completion of the 1 km irrigation tunnel, allowing the Ikmin river of Boliney to flow to Sitio Gasagnaya, Ayyeng, Manabo and to 2,000 ha of ricelands.

Read More


With six km distance, Peñarrubia is the nearest Itneg town to Bangued. The spring, where Bangued’s water supply comes from, is found here.

Read More


In 1945, Pidigan was made the temporary seat of the Provincial Government of Abra. The house of Ex-Mayor Jeremias Bringas was used as the Provincial Capitol with Atty. Zacarias Crispin as Military Governor. 

Read More


The proximity of Pilar to the province of Ilocos Sur is the reason why it is predominantly inhabited by Ilocanos. Known for growing tobacco, Pilar generated P427.766 M excise tax from Virginia cigarettes in 2016 second to Candon City.

Read More


Sallapadan was the first Tingguian settlement organized under the American Regime in the highlands of Abra. It is accessible by two roads: the Bucay-Manabo Road and the Bucay-Lagangilang Road.

Read More

San Isidro

San Isidro was called Cagutungan and was part of Pilar before it became a separate municipality on April 10, 1950.

Read More

San Juan

San Juan is found at the northern side of the province, adjacent to Tineg. The municipality’s hilly mountainous ranges, arable plains and valleys are crisscrossed by the Malanas and Tineg Rivers.

Read More

San Quintin

For a long time, San Quintin served as the sole gateway of the province through the historic Tangadan tunnel. It’s also the home of Abra’s Tabungaw Hatmaker, a National Living Treasure, Teofilo Garcia.

Read More


Tayum is five km east of capital Bangued. The town’s Santa Catalina de Alejandria Parish Church, a 19th-century Baroque church, was declared a National Cultural Treasure by the National Museum of the Philippines in 2001.

Read More


Tineg is at the northernmost part of Abra. It is populated by Tinguians of Banao, Binongan, Mabaca and Adasen tribes. The municipality’s terrain is ruggedly surrounded by mountains with elevations ranging from 480 m to 1,504 masl. 

Read More


Tubo is the ancestral domain of the Maeng tribe. Its mountainous terrain is composed of rugged elevations and narrow valleys where four major rivers stream namely, Abra River, Damalin, Dilong and Utip.

Read More


Villaviciosa is found at the southwestern periphery of Abra, the Pilar-Cagutongan area. It is inhabited by a mix of Tingguian and Ilokano.

Read More

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This